This page reads the store's own FAQ so you know what to look for before you order clothing from Duffield Lane. It is not a review of the clothes. We have not tested the store or its products, and the store's pages do not agree on every detail, so confirm the terms for your item at checkout.
Disclosure: We earn a commission when you buy through some links, at no extra cost to you. We only link to shops we have a partner arrangement with, and we label those links as ads. We have not tested any product mentioned here.
Quick answer
- The FAQ does not state a standard return window. Confirm the window on the product page and in the checkout terms before you pay.
- Return condition: full-price items must not have been worn, altered or washed.
- Return shipping is your cost unless you pay a small fee for free return shipping when you buy.
- Late returns: the FAQ says items received 30 to 45 days after shipping get an e-gift certificate for the purchase price rather than a refund.
- Check the free-shipping threshold: the site banner and the FAQ gave different amounts when we read them.
1. Sizing first
Returns cost money or time, so sizing is the first check. The FAQ lists its sizes (for example M is 8 to 10 and L is 10 to 12) and suggests considering a smaller size if you are between sizes or want a more tailored look. Product pages carry their own sizing notes. Measure yourself and compare with the page rather than relying on the size name. Our guides to reading clothing size charts and children's dresses online explain how.
2. Returns and exchanges
From the store's FAQ (copyright 2026, no policy date shown):
- The store accepts full-price merchandise for return or exchange that has not been worn, altered or washed.
- Returns received after 30 days but less than 45 days after the date shipped are issued an e-gift certificate for the purchase price.
- Free return shipping on eligible items is available through an optional fee of $3.98 paid at purchase. If you do not pay it, you pay the return shipping.
- The FAQ does not state a standard return window or the rules for sale and final-sale items. Look for that wording on the product page, because a different page we saw gave a different fee for free return shipping, which is a reason to read the terms shown at checkout.
If an item is marked final sale, assume it cannot be returned and check before you buy.
3. Shipping
- Orders are processed in 1 to 3 business days.
- Standard shipping takes 2 to 5 business days and is stated as free on orders of $250 and over and $9 below that.
- Faster options exist for street addresses (not P.O. boxes or APO/FPO addresses).
- The site banner said free shipping at $150 and over while the FAQ said $250, so check which applies to your order before you add the last item.
4. Ordering from outside the US
The store ships internationally, with prices in your local currency at checkout. For EU customers the FAQ says you may withdraw within 14 days of receiving your order without giving a reason, that you pay return shipping, and that a prepaid label's cost is deducted from your refund. Refunds are issued within 14 days of notice of cancellation or once the goods are returned. For import charges, see our complete guide to customs, duties and importing, and for your wider rights see online shopping rights and returns.
Checklist before you order
- I measured and compared with the size and fit notes on the product page.
- I know the return window for this item and whether it is final sale.
- I know who pays return shipping and whether the optional fee is worth it for me.
- I know the e-gift certificate rule for returns after 30 days.
- I know the shipping cost for my cart total.
- I kept the order confirmation and will not wash or alter the item until I am sure.
Last checked: 16 October 2026. Source: Duffield Lane, FAQ (copyright 2026, no policy date shown; the returns links on that page pointed to a test store address, so the live returns page may differ). Terms change: read the current terms at checkout.

